top of page

Interview: Will Rhoads


William Rhoads, 19, from the Nordic Club in Park City is one of USA's big talents.

His remarkable results include a 3rd place at the 2014 US Nationals. He was member of 3 Junior World Championship teams, won Jr. 1 class in the USSA Junior Nationals in Park City in 2012, has 7 top ten finishes in the FIS-Cup (including rank 4 and 5 in Einsiedeln 2014), was 11th in Klingenthal's COC in 2014 and most recently got the 2nd place in the COC in Sapporo in January 2015. Additionally he also finished among the top thirty in the Junior World Championships in Almaty this Thursday.

Will was born in New Hampshire and already called Saudi Arabia, Lake Placid and Park City his home. In 2013 he graduated from Park City High School and is now a full-time ski jumper in USA's B-team.

„We are excited about his development. He's knocking on the door of great things.", says Alan Johnson, USA Ski Jumping's Athletic Director about him.

At The Hills is proud that Will took the time for an interview with us:

At The Hills: Will, you celebrated your best result ever in Japan with your 2nd place. How was that for you? Will Rhoads: The second place in Japan was great for me because I was finally able to see where two good jumps together in a competition can get me! Standing on the podium I felt like all of the hard work that I have put into this sport was worth it. ATH: Did you expect to be that good? Or better: When did you realize that you could make it to the podium? Will Rhoads: I was actually a little surprised with my great first round jump because I had made a rather large change with my bindings right before and the jump and the feeling in the air was a bit different. However I was still able to make the best of my jump which I was very happy with! Also, my competition jumps were quite a bit better than in training which was nice for me. I knew I could make it onto the podium once I knew I would be in the top 10 after the first round. Once I was leading I knew that it was an awesome opportunity and that I needed to focus and have another good jump in order to stand on the podium. I am proud of how I handled the pressure.

ATH: After the first round you have been leading with 2 points ahead of Luca Egloff, who missed the podium in the end. Is it hard to stay calm and concentrate, when your first jump was so amazing and made you the last to be up there to jump in the final round?

Will Rhoads: For me, I actually practice the situation in training sometimes where I am the last one on the hill and leading the competition after the first round. I like to put the pressure on myself (even if it is just imaginary) and really focus on doing with what I have to to, despite the pressure. So I really focused on my feelings on the hill and not so much about winning, or the podium. ATH: What was the response of your coaches and the team after this amazing success? What does your second place mean for Ski Jumping in the USA? Will Rhoads: My coach and teammates were incredible excited and supportive of my result! I received a lot of great support from the ski jumping community and especially those involved in USA Ski Jumping. It was really a great atmosphere and feeling after the competition! ATH: Would you like to tell us something about the man aside from the sport? What characterizes you in private/what do you like to do etc.? Will Rhoads: I really enjoy spending time with my friends and family when I am not ski jumping. Also, I love playing basketball, volleyball, skiing, and surfing in the offseason.

(picture by Katja Harnisch)

ATH: This is your first season that you spend in the World-Cup partly. What is your resumé so far? Will Rhoads: My world cup resumé so far has not been quite as successful as I would like it to be. Out of the few starts I have had I do not think I have shown my best performance yet. I know with more experience I will be able to focus and have the high level jumps needed to be competitive in the World Cup. However I love the World Cup atmosphere and the fact that you are competing against the world's best. ATH: What are your goals for the rest of the season? Will Rhoads: My goals for the rest of the season are really just to be the best that I can be. I now know where my best efforts can get me and I like where that is. More specifically I would like to be on the World Championship team and ski fly! A few top 30's in World Cup would not be so bad either.

ATH: Where will you be next?

Will Rhoads: Next for me is [the team competition at the] World Junior Championships in Almaty, Kazakhstan!

ATH: We'll cross fingers for for you and team USA and wish you all the best for the rest of this season and your future goals!

- Interview by Peggy Kierstan

(picture by Katja Harnisch)

  Powered by SkiJumpingItaly

     Follow "At The Hills"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page