top of page

Interview: Federico Cecon

Federico Cecon speaks to At The Hills about how good it is to be part of the WC team

At The Hills is proud to give once again space to a young athlete of the Italian Team, trained by Paolo Bernardi: Federico Cecon, many times seen in the World Cup this year, comes from his last appearances in Willingen and Zakopane, where he made one of his best jumps of the season. Together with him, this year we've seen the debut of another young prospect, Daniele Varesco, and we would like to know if they can make the most out of a positive rivalry.

For those who don't know, Federico is the son to Roberto Cecon, the greatest Italian jumper of all times (and former head coach of the team).

At The Hills: Welcome Federico, thank you for your time. How are you? Federico Cecon: Very good, thank you.

ATH: Since the last time we met [for SkiJumpingItaly], much has changed for you. FC: True, many things have changed in the last year, being part of the circus is so fine: a different atmosphere, very particular.

ATH: You and Daniele Varesco are the young Italian guns in the World Cup. What about your relationship? Does this internal rivalry help both of you to improve? FC: This season we've often raced the same events and we get along very well, we've been around together for a long, long time. Being the two youngest athletes helped our relationship, it surely made things easier. As you said, our rivalry is a positive one.

ATH: Which is (in positive and in negative) the World Cup experience that influenced you the most this far, either on the personal and professional side? FC: Every World Cup race thrilled me, but the most important is the one in Wisla, where I performed a great jump and easily made it through a difficult qualification round. This been said, the most wonderful experience was last season's finale in Planica: racing in a familiar venue, on your training hill is something completely different; the atmosphere is unique there and I hope to be back this year.

ATH: Before the World Cup race in Zakopane you took part in the Continental Cup competitions, with a great final 12th place. How wide is the gap between WC and CoC? FC: With that 12th place I ended close to the top 10, which is a great result considering how high the CoC level is nowadays. The difference with the World Cup is still big because the level is extreme there, while the higher speeds makes it easier to jump in Continental Cup. It is true, though, that today in the CoC you can find jumpers which are worth a top 10 or a points finish in the World Cup.

ATH: How far do you think your performances will bring you? Will it be possible to see you in Falun for the World Championships?

FC: I'm happy for where I am now. Obviously the goals never end, they renew and the path I took is the right one. Going on like this and keeping on improving I can reach high. I can't say whether I'll be in Falun or not, but I sincerely hope it, it would be great and I think I have good chances. I believe!

ATH: Have you ever wanted to quit? FC: No, I've never thought about it. I like to compete at any time because I love challenges.

ATH: Ski jumping is a "love-or-hate" sport. Apart from the "family heritage", what made you love this discipline and start your career? FC: Well, if my dad hadn't transmitted his passion to me, I wouldn't be here today; had I born in another family I probably wouldn't have taken up the sport, which is not that popular in Italy. I must be thankful to my dad for what he did for me.

(picture by Bärbel Schulze)

ATH: This discipline is very adrenalinic, either for athletes and spectators, but it's also dangerous. How do you mentally prepare for it? What must jumpers have more than athletes of other sports? FC: It surely is an on-the-edge sport, but I wouldn't call it dangerous; the risk is there, just like in many other disciplines, but we are trained and prepared to face it. I don't know what I may have more than other athletes, because this is the only sport I practice and know well. I jump since I was 8 and everything comes natural to me, that's why I don't have any fear.

ATH: Accidents are part of the sport, but some of them leave significant scars, like the ones which brought to the retirement of Thomas Morgenstern. In your opinion, how should these cases be faced? FC: There are some cases in which crashes leave heavy marks and bad consequences, that's for sure, but every athlete reacts differently.

(picture by Bärbel Schulze)

ATH: From now on, when speaking about ski jumping we'll have to speak about generosity, as demonstrated by the German team, Kamil Stoch and others for Nick Fairall. FC: Exactly, great displays which show how generous this sport is and how human is the marvelous world of ski jumping.

ATH: Last but not least: will we see you again in the World Cup? FC: If I can maintain this technical stability and this jumping standard, I'll have the possibility of running every World Cup race. I hope I can keep improving until the end of the season.

At The Hill hopes so as well! All the best for you!

- Interview by Consuelo Conte

  Powered by SkiJumpingItaly

     Follow "At The Hills"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page