top of page

Interview: The German Four-Hills rookie Martin Hamann

Interview: The German rookie Martin Hamann

Hamann.jpg

ATH: Martin, you started as the first athlete in the first Four-Hills qualification in Oberstdorf. How was it to make the first official jump to open the tournament?

Martin Hamann: I don't really like to have bib no.1, no matter in which competition. But the Four-Hills-Tournament has its own laws and this also applies to the starting numbers. To open the tournament was a great feeling because the viewers already waited for the first to come down. So you can say, they all waited for me. Everyone finally wanted the Four-Hills to start.

ATH: When did you learn that you'll be part of Germany's national group and what was your first thought?

MH: I learned on Dec. 23rd that I was selected. I fighted for this possibility in a jumping in Engelberg. I was one of the best in the training rounds. If I wouldn't have screwed up my second jump a bit I would have won but so I became third behind Daniel Wenig and Karl Geiger. My lengths were 132m, 126.5m and 137m. That meant a disadvantage of 4m to the best butt the farthest jump of the day – and that with being one of the youngest. My first thought was: That must be enoug to make it. But at the same time I was afraid to not be chosen for whatever reason because I deserved it due to my results. When I heard that I was chosen, I had to leave some tears of joy because it always was my dream and it is so fantastic to get this chance.

ATH: You are young and literally have you're whole career still ahead. Was that your first experience in the World-Cup? What's the difference between the this and the competitions you already took part in?

MH: Yes, it was the first World-Cup experience for both, Tim Fuchs and I. The difference is simply nice. There are so many more spectators and everyone is doing what they can so that we can jump effortlessly. The hills are prepared so well and it's so cool to be able to enjoy this huge media attention.

Hamann2.jpg

ATH: What can you say about your participation in the Four-Hills-Tournament? Did you like it? Which experiences do you take home?

MH: I can only say thank you for the trust they put in me even though I couldn't fully show what I hoped to be able to perform. Anyway, I liked it so much that I already look forward to next season and the chance to qualify again. I take countless experiences with me that are too many to name them all but the most important is: The World-Cup is really big and I'm a little small but next time I definitely have to keep my tail up and don't want to let myself get one down. It's as important as knowing that you can't simply drop in and win this.

ATH: Of which of your previous results are you proud?

MH: I'm proud of that I'm not so far away from the best in the world than I thought I would. Of course, I'm not able to compete and win one of the big competitions yet. But I'll continue training diligently and hope to make it one day. I'm really proud to make it to where I stand now.

ATH: Who's your idol?

MH: My idol among the Germans is Richard Freitag, he comes from the same club as I. And then I look up to Gregor Schlierenzauer, he already surprised me in former times with his performances. Besides I'm a fan of RB Leipzig and he jumps with Red Bull on his helmet for ages.

ATH: Which goals and wishes do you have for your career?

MH: Well, what does an athlete want....I think to be successful but in general I dream of Olympic gold and of becoming Skiflying World-Champion.

ATH: We wish you all the best for this and will definitely see you more often in the near future!

Editor's note: Follow Martin Hamann on his official facebook to be up to date about his journey in ski jumping!

by Peggy Kierstan

  Powered by SkiJumpingItaly

     Follow "At The Hills"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page