top of page

Gorm Johansson: The Four-Hills are around the corner!

4 Hills is just around the corner. Let's take a look at this year's tournament. This year it will be an open tour. Quite many guys actually will be able to win this year, I think. I mean this is the most exciting tour in many years. As always there are also some rookies this time. I will come back to that.

What does the tournament mean for the athletes?

This is a tour everyone wants to win. the media-focus is unbelievable almost every hour and the guys have to cope with a lot of stress regarding that. When they train - eat - during the comps and almost everything they do, will be in the focus of the media. So it is hard to be a new athlete in this. This year the snow conditions in Europe have been really strange, and we have to wait to see every hill and how they look: Is it ok or just some hard ice? We have to wait and see. Crossing fingers for some new snow and perfect hills! Let us look at some of my favorites of this year's tournament. It is impossible to pick just a few. So there will be some names to focus on, I think.

My no. one favorit is Roman Koudelka. He looks very strong this year, and he is in an upgoing shape, I think. But he will be chased by others. I will take them one by one: Anders Fannemel has been in his best ever shape this winter. In Engelberg he was not looking at his best, but I think he will be back fighting. Michael Hayboeck has also been strong and looked stable before the break. He will for sure fight on a high level this time.

Severin Freund seems to be stronger and stronger, I think he will be one of the strongest fighters for the overall podium. Peter Prevc is always someone we have to look to. He is in good shape and for sure could be on top level. Also a winner for sure. Simon Amman -this is the only thing he has not been able to win yet. This time he looks in very good shape and I think he really wants this overall victory...And he is more than good enough. Gregor Schlirenzauer. He always is a man to look up for. He is also more than good enough to win the overall, if he comes back to the tour in full shape. He is a winner and we have to look for him, too.

Noriaki Kasai. The legend himself will for sure fight also in this tour. I think he can fight into top 10. But I am not sure if he can fight for the overall podium. But with this man you never know. Let's see. Anders Bardal. Anders has not been at his best yet. So it is exciting to see how some days off have done for him. If he is in top shape, he is also a man to look to. We can't forget some outsiders. A surprise is always possible. My outsiders this time are Kamil Stoch Jernei Damjan Piotr Zyla Richard Freitag.

These guys also are in shape. They for sure can be fighting high up on the list. Only one man we don't know about this year: Kamil has been out for the whole season start but we all know his potential. He can be high up. Last year we had a youngster who came and won the tournament. I dont think that will happen this time but some exciting athletes are coming in. I wanna bring on some names for you to be aware of: Stephan Leyhe Phillip Sjøen Johann A. Forfang

We will know after Bischofshofen, if some of these will be on top as well. I think so. Again, my top 6 favorites - Roman Koudelka Severin Freund Peter Prevc Andes Bardal Simon Amman Michael Hayboeck. I think also my other top 10 guys will be on that list. Only exciting is, if an outsider or a youngster will be part as well.

Somehow this time I have a feeling for a very exciting tournament and I am looking so forward for it to start! Gorm Johansson/ DR. Johann

  Powered by SkiJumpingItaly

     Follow "At The Hills"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page